Genuinely Touched

Waking up this morning was rough. I’m functioning on about four hours of sleep, and today was one of those days where I truly had to force myself to go to Urgent Care. You know you feel awful when you actually want to go.

I’ve been sick for weeks now, maybe even a month. I do try to let mild things pass by because I believe in the body’s ability to heal itself, but when you have a sore throat that feels swollen (as in, I couldn’t really drink a cup of tea), along with swollen glands, sinus pain and pressure, day seven of a migraine, and a vicious cough that is making you wheeze, you’ve got to face facts; you’re sick.

And so, off I went to seek out treatment. In total I was there maybe two hours, if that. My blood pressure was probably the best it’s EVER been in the last ten years; 125/75. That alone impressed me. My blood pressure is usually a good indicator of how stressed I am. The last time a nurse checked it, she thought the machine was broken. That’s how stressed I was and how poorly I was being treated. My temperature is low, but since my heart is beating, we’ll call me “sort of alive”.

Once I got in to see the doctor, it was pretty quick. The two tests that were run were both negative (Strep and Influenza. Both back in less than fifteen minutes.). I was diagnosed with a left ear infection, a bad sinus infection, and bronchitis. For me, that’s pretty darn sick considering I haven’t had a sinus infection since October of 2008, and that one required two rounds of antibiotics before I was better. I was discharged with ten days worth of antibiotics, a few days of cough medicine (I’ve taken two thus far, and it doesn’t seem to be helping.), and Flonase, which I was shocked to discover is covered by my insurance. If it hadn’t been, I would have passed on it. So far, I feel worse than I did when I walked in there, but it’ll take a few days for the antibiotics to do their thing.

When I got back from the pharmacy, I was met with some very caring, kind, thoughtful inquiries regarding my health. It genuinely touched me. For those of you that took the time to inquire: THANK YOU! I’ll never forget it.

Special thanks to Mass General/North Shore for taking good care of me.

copyright © 2017 by Lisa Marino & Blackbird Serenity, LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

9 thoughts on “Genuinely Touched

    • It was simple enough. I knew I was sick, I just didn’t think it was as bad as it was. I feel worse today than I did yesterday, but hopefully the antibiotics will do their thing.

      Thanks for looking out for me. 🙂 Hope you’re well. Happy Easter, in advance.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I hope there’s marked improvement each day. And keep writing when you can… I think creativity possesses some degree of healing. And Happy Easter to you. 🙂

        Like

      • Unfortunately, I feel worse today than I did when I went to Urgent Care. I did not think that was possible, because that was pretty bad for me to go at all. I know the antibiotics are working, but I’m a mess of no sleep, head, ear, and face pain, and my temperature finally decided to go into fever mode yesterday. I’m only getting about two hours of sleep here and there, so I look the way I feel. 😦

        I am writing though. I’m trying to complete the rewrite and it’s crazy how many words I’ve managed to type and still not be anywhere near the finish line. I do feel stuck at times, but I’m trying to work through it.

        I’m doing my best to remain creative. Thanks for thinking of me.

        Best,

        Lisa

        Liked by 1 person

      • Creativity AND rest, when you can get it. I really do hope things improve for you, Lisa. Real rest can be the most difficult thing when suffering, and I hope you get some. I pray that things get better , and soon. – Steve

        Like

      • I am doing my best. Seems like the occasional nap is better than anything else at the moment. All this medicine is wiring me and I’m trying not to cough, which means I’m thinking about it way too much. I hope by the time my appointment rolls around next week, I’ll feel a lot better. And having just typed the word cough, it started out of nowhere. Time to load up on cough pearls. LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know it’s a cliche, but one day at a time. Grabbing onto handfuls of hope to make it to the next day — a better day, believing it serves a purpose. And brief naps are wonderful! I hope things improve for you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

